Personal Growth

Image

I’ve found that I am much harder on myself than anyone else would dream of being. I am my own biggest critic, and my own worst enemy. I’ve been having these dreams where strangers are yelling criticisms at me. This morning I finally admitted that I beat myself up far too much. I am learning to be compassionate with myself. If you took a random poll of people that know me I would guess they would say more good things than bad. For whatever reason I have always had a hard time with self worth. I feel better this morning. Like I’ve had some kind of epiphany. There are certain things you can hear for so long and not really understand. The concept that we are generally harder on ourselves than other people isn’t new. I don’t even feel like I’ve mastered the idea in my mind quite yet, but I think I’m starting to understand. I feel like a weight has been lifted and I can breathe a little better. I guess the light turned on!

(I took this photo in 2005 in Santa Barbara, California – It was a beautiful day)

Leave a Reply

