Ugly Duckling Pies

These are what I’m calling the “Ugly Duckling Pies”! Delicious, yes, but not so pretty. I will need to tweak the recipes when I make them in the future so they look as good as they taste. Let me introduce you to the “Ugly Duckling Pies”.

“Easter Basket Pie”

ImageImage

March 7th is National Cereal Day so I thought I’d make a “Rice Krispy Treat” crust! I had 2 bags of the “Jumbo” egg-shaped marshmallows in Spring pastel colors. I used the green marshmallows for the crust in hopes that it would turn out a more vivid “Spring grass” color. When I make this pie again I’ll be adding more coloring to the crust marshmallow mixture. The filling is my own recipe since I’m picky about lemon filling.

Rachie Recipe: “Lemon Filling With Marshmallow Poofs” :

1 package lemon Jell-O

1 package vanilla pudding

2 cups boiling water

2 cups milk

1 tbs lemon juice

15 large marshmallows

Place the Jello-O mix and the marshmallows in a mixing bowl and add the boiling water. Stir so all of the Jell-O mix is dissolved. The marshmallows will get gooey and melt a bit – this is the awesome part! Set the bowl aside and DON’T put it in the fridge. Give it about 10-15 minutes to cool and mix the vanilla pudding with the milk in a separate bowl. Stir for 2 minutes and mix in the lemon juice. Add the pudding mixture to the Jell-O mixture and stir it all together. It will be an opaque liquid with gooey partially melted marshmallows floating on top. Pour it into your pie crust and let it set overnight in the fridge.

As far as the topping goes I admit to being a bit of a marshmallow nut. In the future I will simply use meringue. I used purple marshmallows, and learning from the crust added a few drops of food coloring. I melted 30 marshmallows in a pan with some butter to get a smooth marshmallow frosting effect. I imagine it will be much prettier with a peak of purple meringue in the future. While the candied lemon slices were delicious I don’t think I will use them again. I’d like to find little lemon gel candies to decorate with if I choose to decorate at all.

“Raspberry Orange Chocolate Chunk Pie”

Image

This pie is on the “Ugly Duckling” list mostly because it was made on Day 1 when I was “crust clueless”. I had mixed chunks of broken up dark Ghirardelli chocolate into the basic crust along with vanilla extract. I had let the crust get too warm and it was very hard to handle. Let’s just say that a lot of the crust ended up on my hands instead of in the dish. It was a mess, but a delicious mess. I used raspberry preserves, and a can of mandarin oranges with some sugar cooked down to a thicker texture for the filling. 

“Achin’ For Bacon” 

Image My mom named this pie! It’s basically a quiche pie with a decent dose of bacon. It’s on the “Ugly Duckling” list because, while delicious, and an excellent breakfast food, it just isn’t an eye-catching pie.

I’m pretty sure I won’t be entering any of the “Ugly Duckling Pies” in the “Pi Day” contest by “Crazy for Crust”. If you want to check out the contest click the link below.

http://www.crazyforcrust.com/2013/02/the-pi-day-pie-party/

I entered the lemon pie filling recipe in this week’s “Iron Chef Mom” contest hosted by Lemons For Lulu!

Lemons for Lulu

Check it out! This weekly contest looks like a lot of fun!

One thought on “Ugly Duckling Pies

  1. Pingback: Weekly Iron Chef Challenge Hosted By Lemons For Lulu | Rachie Adventures

Leave a Reply

