Hot Cross Buns and Irish Jigs

Last night I decided I wanted to learn the dance routine Gene Kelly does in a video I saw on YouTube. I pushed the chairs and the coffee table out of the way, and placed my hot pink fedora atop my head. I started the music and had a blast! I got confused on the “hot cross buns” dance step, and had to watch it over a couple times. I’ve now decided “hot cross buns” is my new signature move the next time I’m out dancing! So, a bit out of breath, and smiling uncontrollably at the end of my spontaneous dance number I started thinking about hot cross buns.

Mmm… buns…

I started wondering just what the heck hot cross buns actually are, and if they might be delicious. I browsed through several recipes and I finally settled on a ommy-nommy looking recipe from The Pioneer Woman.

TPW_3214

Just look at those! Don’t they look amazing?

I was originally just going to find a recipe and “pin” it to try out later. After searching around the web I learned that hot cross buns are traditionally eaten on Good Friday. Well that’s coming up pretty soon! I am very much looking forward to making this holiday really awesome this year!

I mentioned before that I had two really amazing parents. Well, thankfully I still have my mom, but my dad passed away when I was 19 years old. When dad was alive holidays were always a big deal. There were lots of decorations, lots of social functions, and some kind of spiritual activity involved. My dad was Spanish and Portuguese, so needless to say I grew up Catholic. When I was a little kid I’d go in my parents’ room to sleep. Dad almost always had the window open and would stare out at the sky for awhile before he drifted off. Without fail, whenever Mom and I were just starting to drift off to dreamland he’d magically turn into a curious philosopher and start off by asking, “you guys wanna talk about God”? This would prompt long conversations about life in general, and whether we were alone in the universe, and why we are here. Sometimes my brain will go off in the middle of the night and ask a lot of similar questions when I should be going to sleep. I think it’s maybe just because my Dad has nudged my shoulder from Heaven and asked “do you wanna talk about God”? So, I need to add some spirituality to my Easter celebration again. I need to actually celebrate the holidays this year.

Tomorrow is St. Patrick’s day, and I am so grateful that my mom is part Irish and there is a gigantic pot of corned-beef and cabbage on the stove in preparation for tomorrow! We’re going to watch “Darby O’Gill and The Little People” and laugh our day away making Irish Whiskey Cake, Irish Soda Bread, and other various yum-yums.

Now, I don’t know what the heck I’m doing when it comes to dancing an Irish jig. What I do know is that I like skipping and hopping around to Irish music, and I don’t particularly care if it looks graceful because it’s FUN!

When I was studying abroad in England I went to an Irish Folk Music concert and someone dressed-up in a giant leprechaun outfit came and danced with my friends and I in front of the stage. I loved the music so I got a CD and I will be playing that as I skip, hop, and Irish jig around the house tomorrow!

If I do this right St. Patrick’s day will be restored to it’s former family holiday glory and my world will have some more light shining through.

Cheers to hot cross buns and Irish jigs!

2 thoughts on “Hot Cross Buns and Irish Jigs

  1. LOL! Only you would start dancing, think of hot cross buns, then recipes ^_^ How cute! You remind me of my friend Jp. You know, I’ve never had corned-beef and cabbage, hmm. *adds to list of things to try*

    I hope you and your family have a lovely St Paddy’s Day ♥

    • Thank you, dear! I hope you have a wonderful day as well! Definitely try some corned-beef and cabbage! 😀 Maybe you could make some with Jp! It sounds like she’d probably enjoy doing that with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

