My Top 11 Favorite Drama Movies

Something very weird happened this evening. I keep thinking about it, and I have absolutely no clue what’s going on. Do you ever have that happen? Those “what the heck is going on” moments?

I’ve been having a few hours of “what the heck is going on”, and in an effort to distract myself from this plight I’ve decided to write a short “no thinking” blog. My wee little mind just can’t handle any topics more complicated than “My Top 11 Favorite Drama Movies” tonight. Why 11? Because why not? Please keep in mind that I have a terrible time sitting still for most drama movies in the first place. It takes a lot for a drama to keep my attention, and some of these are rather long films! My movie collection is mostly comprised of the 3 C’s: comedies, cartoons, and cult classics. Yet, somehow these movies have finiggled their way into my heart as not only tolerable dramas, but some of my very favorite movies of all time.

I’m going to use a little legend to give you a heads up on some things:

= a predominate love story throughout the film

:’) = make sure to get a fresh box of tissues ahead of time

O_O = positively stunning cinematography/wardrobe/set

? = these movies will pick your brain

Onward!

Snuggle in with some cocoa or a cup of tea.

Turn your speakers up or get some ear buds.

Here goes the countdown!

#11 – Saint Ralph

:’)

This movie has a very strong “Boston Marathon” theme running through it. Get it? Oh, I’m feeling punny tonight! Anyway, Ralph’s mom is in a coma and “the doctors are saying it will take a miracle to wake her”. So, what does Ralph do? He sets out to make a miracle of course!

#10 – What Dreams May Come

:’) / ❤ / O_O

This is an amazing love story. I can’t even talk about this one without getting choked up. You watch, and I’ll find myself a few boxes of tissues.

#9 – Chocolat

:’) / ❤

Vianne travels where the wind takes her spreading her chocolate and sweetness throughout the land! She’s pretty much a “Mary Poppins” for adults. However, she’s also an unwed single mother who opens a chocolate shop during Lent in a small 1960 French village, and isn’t looked upon as warmly as Miss Poppins. She’s a strong and loving female figure. Plus her daughter, Anouk, has a “pet kangaroo” named Pontouf! You can’t go wrong.

#8 – Titus Andronicus

O_O

This movie is visually stunning. It’s a cinematic rendition of Shakespeare’s original play. There are several very intense monologues throughout the story, and you might as well get a spoon out to eat up those delicious words. Fair warning, this IS one of Shakespeare’s tragedies. You know what happened to everyone at the end of Romeo and Juliet? Yeah, that happens to everyone here, too.

#7 – The Five People You Meet In Heaven

:’) / ❤ / O_O

I generally try to avoid stories that blow-up with popularity. I find that things that get a lot of “hype” tend to let me down. I gave in with “The Five People You Meet In Heaven”, and I’m glad I did. If I hadn’t watched the movie first I don’t think I would have read the book. The idea is that everyone meets five people that played a significant role in their life after they die. They may know the people fairly well, or they may not realize how big a role a stranger played in their life. It’s very heart touching, and set on a beautiful pier. You may want a spare tissue box for this one.

#6 – Pleasantville

:’) / ❤ / O_O / ?

You know I have a secret wish to be a modern day Mrs. Cleaver, right? So, of course I adore a movie that features modern day people getting sucked into a classic black and white TV show. The music is wonderful, it’s sweet, funny, and thought provoking. Please Mr. TV Repairman! Please give me a magical remote control that will whisk me away!

#5 – Vanity Fair

O_O

This movie is cinematic eye candy. Wardrobe? Gorgeous! Set design? Decadent! It’s funny and scandalous! I don’t like all of the characters, but I give them credit for holding my attention. Occasionally, I’ll find myself yelling at the TV such charming phrases as “”you ought to smack him upside the head, Becky”, and “well, you’re a big jerk” while watching this movie. The ending is delightful.

#4 – I ❤ Huckabees

?

Ready to have several “what the heck is going on” moments? No? Well then you should wait until you’re fully prepared to wonder what’s happening before you watch this movie. You won’t get lost in the plot, the plot is pretty clear, but I was best friends with the rewind button the first few times I watched this trying to figure out “what the heck are they saying”. I understood which words were being said, but I was a bit lost as to what the heck they meant! It’s a very philosophical movie with a hefty dose of comedy thrown in for good measure. I like to think about things. Not that I feel particularly profound or anything, but in between the moments of every day life I like to ask myself “what does it all mean”? The best thing about this movie is that it scratches that inner-philosopher itch I tend to get, and I feel like I get a fraction closer to understanding different things about life every time I watch.

#3 – Don Juan de Marco

:’) / ❤

The movie begins as Don Juan seduces one last conquest before climbing a billboard to try and commit suicide.

*Insert Record Scratch Sound Effect Here*

Don Juan on a billboard? Yes! He’s not exactly the real “Don Juan”, but he’s the next best thing! I can’t tell you a whole bunch about this one without giving too much away. Suffice to say they send “Don Juan” to a mental health hospital to be looked after by his soon-to-be-retiring psychiatrist, “Don Octavio”.

“There are only four questions of value in life, Don Octavio. What is sacred? Of what is the spirit made? What is worth living for, and what is worth dying for? The answer to each is the same: only love.”

^ This is a quote that floats around the internet and is attributed to Johnny Depp. While Mr. Depp did speak those words he spoke them as the Don Juan de Marco character.

#2 – My Life Without Me

:’) / ❤

Anne gets a surprise diagnosis and is told she has a few months to live, and she’s only in her 20’s. She decides not to tell her husband, two daughters, or her mother about her diagnosis, and makes herself a short “bucket list”. It’s a beautiful movie. It’s a bit of a melancholy theme, but it’s lovely nonetheless. Her neighbor’s name is also Anne, and “neighbor Anne” gives one of the biggest tear-jerker monologues I’ve ever witnessed on film. This movie can also claim my favorite onscreen kiss of all time. It’s a romantic kiss and there’s crazy screaming involved. Perfect.

#1 – Masked and Anonymous

?

This movie has more stars than Orion. Get it? A little astronomy humor there that time. Really though, there are so many A-List stars in this movie I found myself wondering why I’d never heard of it before. I saw the trailer at the beginning of some indie flick I’d rented, and immediately needed to find and watch this film. That was not an easy task. I had to hunt this movie down, and I finally found it in the $9.99 pile at Blockbuster after rummaging through DVD sections at numerous other stores. The story follows “Jack Fate”, a jailbird legendary singer played by legendary singer Bob Dylan. The plot isn’t particularly engaging by itself – it’s all of the thought-provoking monologues that really make this movie. This is my all time favorite movie. It wins for all categories across the board, not just drama. Plus, it features a lot of Bob Dylan songs!

Okay, that’s it for tonight. I’m terribly tired, so here’s hoping I can turn my brain off and sleep!

11 thoughts on “My Top 11 Favorite Drama Movies

  1. You are the only other person I know who has seen My Life Without Me. Absolutely loved that film. I will openly admit to having a couple of man tears when she sits in the car recording all the tapes for her girls future birthdays. Good choice!

    I like the sound of Five People You Meet in Heaven, will need to investigate that one. Hope you managed to catch some zzzzzz…..

    • Yeah, I finally fell asleep a little after 4 AM. It’s a little after 11 AM now, and I just woke up. Oh, I cried during that part too! Actually, I cry through most of that movie. Definitely check out “The Five People You Meet In Heaven” – it’s lovely! I’m a space cadet this morning. Where’s my coffee? I don’t know.

      • I’m guessing it must be the middle of the afternoon by now? I hope you have pulled yourself together and woken up, it’s just about time to sleep here.

        Downloaded ‘The Five People You Meet In Heaven’ and I will give it a watch over the next couple of days, I’ll let you know what I think.

        Hope you join the rest of your day

      • I finally got round to watching The Five People You Meet In Heaven.

        Can’t believe I have never came across it before, great film. Unfortunately a little dated now, a proper remake could be a massive hit. I can see someone like Jack Nicholson or Morgan Freeman playing the role of Eddie.

        Thank you for bringing it to my attention 🙂

  2. I haven’t seen all of these, but Chocolat is one of my favorite movies of all time. I also loved Vanity Fair and Pleasantville. I’ll have to check out the others!

  3. Pingback: And now for something completely different… | A Seeker's Musings

  4. Pingback: Popular Drama Movies | mostpopularmoviesofalltime.com

Leave a Reply

