Fun and Games: Of Dinosaurs, Lounge Singers, and Sock Puppets

Okie dokie, I am finally getting caught up on responses to tags and awards! To kick things off I’m starting with a little game I was tagged for by Eddie over at Bishop Eddie Tatro’s Study.

Rules
1. Post these rules. 
2. Post a photo of yourself and eleven random facts about you. 
3. Answer the questions given to you in the tagger’s post. 
4. Create eleven new questions and tag new people to answer them. 
5. Go to their blog/Twitter and let them know they’ve been tagged.

RetroRachie

11 Random Rachie Facts

1.) I am 6 feet (1.8288 meters) tall.

2.) I’m a Sagittarius.

3.) My top 3 favorite dinosaurs are the Parasaurolophus, Pachycephalosaurus, and Cryolophosaurus.

Parasaurolophus had a distinct “horn” or “crest” atop its head that contained a system of nasal passages which make a trumpet-like sound when air is passed through. You can hear the sounds that have been recreated from fossil structures on YouTube . It’s a very deep sound – think the “Barry White” of dinosaurs.

Parasaurolophus cyrtocristatus

Pachycephalosaurus is the “hard head” of dinosaurs. I’m not going to go on a rant about the many mistakes in the Jurassic Park movies. However, you can see Pachycephalosaurus and Parasaurolophus in Jurassic Park: The Lost World referred to as “Friar Tuck” and “Elvis” respectively. Here’s a YouTube clip.

Pachycephalosaurus RoyalOntarioMuseum

While Parasaurolophus may get called “Elvis” in the movie it is not affectionately referred to as “Elvisaurus” as Cryolophosaurus can claim. The name Cryolophosaurus literally breaks down to “cold crest lizard” (dinosaurs are not reptiles by the way) and was probably named this because it was found in Antarctica. However, plate tectonics and paleoclimatology reconstruct its habitat as being considerably warmer than Antarctica is today; probably quite pleasant weather.

Augustana College Cryolophosaurus

4.) I played a whole season of basketball in Spice-Girl-esque platform sneakers when I was 13.

5.) I have a thing for hanging decorations: 5 wind chimes, a strand of lantern lights, a large hanging lantern, 5 dream catchers, a flock of 10 paper cranes, 2 wire orb toys, a strand of prayer flags, a strand of butterflies, and a prism all grace my ceiling.

6.) When I was a little kid my word for pillows was “pwallows”. I love pwallows, and decorating with pwallows. Pwallows are a necessary garnish for delicious sleep.

7.) I enjoy sailing!

8.) I used to wear contacts just for the crazy colors: lavender, orange, and teal.

9.) I want to sing for a live audience at least once. It’s on my bucket list of things I want to experience. I want to feel like one of the classy lounge-style singers. Something like the green dress song in Burlesque,

or Begin the Beguine from De-Lovely;

but hopefully not like the piano scene from Hot Shots.

However, I would be really happy if I could have half the class of just about anything Peggy Lee did!

^ Yes, that is the same song Jessica Rabbit sings in “Who Framed Roger Rabbit”.

10.) I collect antique books.

11.) I have almost as many voices in my head as Seth MacFarlane.

I express my voices with sock puppets.

EmmasBubblePipe

Questions from Eddie

1.) What is your favorite quote?  

I have loads of favorite quotes! However, I particularly like

“Color in a painting is like enthusiasm in life.”

– Van Gogh

Here’s an odd tidbit for you: Van Gogh gave his severed ear to his girlfriend, Rachel, as a gift. Someone should have told him that detached body parts fell out of fashion as suitable gifts long before his time.

2.) When is your favorite period of history and why?

The 1940s-1960s because in my head the whole thing must be exactly like my favorite movies, right?

Yes, I hand jive like a boss.

3.) Who is your favorite classical poet? 

William Blake!

4.) What is your current favorite song?

I’m not big on new music in general, but I love the band “Train”. Plus they have local roots so… WOO CALIFORNIA! I’ve been digging their song “Half Moon Bay” lately.

5.) When is your favorite time of day?

Sunrise and sunset when the sky lights up with color.

6.) What do you collect?

Antique books, rocks, fossils, and perpetual motion machines.

7.) Who is your favorite comedian?

Bill Hicks – he was more than a comedian – he was a philosopher.

8.) What is your favorite genre of fiction? 

I really love the classics. I love the characters of H.G. Wells – they’re fantastically well developed. I suppose that’s not a genre. Let’s say “classic science fiction thrillers” – does that count?

9.) Who is your favorite writer?

I am going to have to go with Robert Louis Stevenson. I love the “Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde”, and I did a Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde tribute with make-up.

Dr. Rachie Jekyll and Miss Olivia Hyde

10.) Which philosopher would you like to sit and have a conversation with over dinner and some vino?

Socrates – and I promise not to spike his drink with hemlock.

11.) If you were to form a system of government what style of government would it be and why?

I don’t honestly know… I think it might be nice to see a system of government where a panel of elected officials must work together for the people instead of single president or ruler. I can’t honestly say I’m proud of any of the presidents we’ve had since JFK. What happened to leading as a servant to the people and inspiring a nation? Can we just put that idea into place? That’d be nice.

11 New Questions for Tag-ees

1.) What is your super hero name? (If you haven’t already made one for yourself this is your chance to make one up.)

2.) What is the last thing that actually made you laugh out loud?

3.) Who was your first celebrity crush?

4.) What foods are you picky about, and why?

5.) What do you hope people remember about you?

6.) What is the worst pick-up line that’s been tried on you?

7.) Do you play an instrument, and which instrument? (Singing totally counts)

8.) When you hear the word “prayer” what are your first thoughts?

9.) Did you have an imaginary friend when you were a kid, and what was their name?

10.) If you could pluck one memory from your head and record it on a DVD to share with others what would it be?

11.) Do you think the nature of time is linear? Why or why not?

Time for tagging!

James

Vickie

Bradley

Charlotte

“Relly Roo”

Joe

Nowan Zen

Esther

Tricia

Jennay

Sheri

If you were tagged you are obviously welcome to join in the fun if you’d like and continue the game – if not, I hope I will have drawn some good attention to your blog.

If you respond please send me the link! I don’t want to accidentally miss your response.

Alright, that’s it folks!

It’s almost 2 AM in California!

I must sleep!

24 thoughts on “Fun and Games: Of Dinosaurs, Lounge Singers, and Sock Puppets

  1. My sincerest thanks Rachel, this is great! I am really honoured you have chosen me as one of your tags. Loved the wonderful facts about yourself and the questions you have posed.
    I’m very grateful to you for this recognition, speak soon James 😉

  2. Thanks for tagging me and I’m so glad you did! I ❤ Train as well!! This is such a great way to get to know other bloggers! I hope to get my post done sometime today! Thanks again!! =) Enjoy your Memorial day weekend!

  3. Thanks for tagging me, this sounds like fun! I love your responses, what a great idea to use videos. It may take me a few days to give this the attention it deserves, in the meantime, “Please stand by!”

  4. You had me hooked when you mentioned lounge singers. I think there is something special, a seductive charm, about lounge singers.

    My favourite has to be from the film Shame with Michael Fassbender (one of my favourite actors)??

    I was glued to the scene and downloaded the soundtrack straight away. Carey Mulligan manages to turn one of the one of the most cringeworthy karaoke favourites into a classy and sexy performance. The most simplistic cinematography helps with the intensity (can you tell I like it???).

    If you have the time then listen all the way through, I’ve got a feeling you will like it.

Leave a Reply

