Image

Happy Father’s Day!

Happy Father's Day!

Captain Doug (1947-2005)

This is my dad!

He was one of those people where you wonder how all that person fits inside one human body.

Dad was “Goofy”, and he was amazing at doing the trademark “Goofy” yell – ah ha hoo ooey!


He wore shorts almost everyday with a T-shirt, socks pulled up to his knees, and tennis shoes.Β He taught me that if something needed to get done you just do it, and to always give your best effort. Dad would always tell me “don’t half-ass anything”, even life, do everything with everything you’ve got. He taught me that if you need help it’s not a sign of weakness to ask, and “it doesn’t hurt to ask”. Dad showed me that a man doesn’t need to be macho to be masculine; and that a big tough lookin’ guy could still wear a pink wig on New Years Eve, play the Barbie game, and cook us pizza. I am very lucky that both of my parents have always been so supportive of anything I’ve wanted to do.

DougCortezwithDaughterRachelat1stCollegeGraduationage17

He was always encouraging academic and creative endeavors! He coached my basketball team, and showed up at Martial Arts to give support from the sidelines. When my school was having a carnival guess who showed up and made balloon animals? Dad! He used to take me to the Marine Safety Office with him, and I was always proud to see him in his uniform. Those were great days with just Dad and I! He’d take me to lunch and we’d sing “Man of La Mancha” REALLY loud in the truck.


He taught me how to change the oil on a car, and how to change a tire. When he tried to get healthy he’d have me go to AQUACISE with him! Can you see my dad hopping around in the water to “Dancing Queen”?

He taught me about sailing, and fishing, and how to tie off a line properly when you dock a boat.

DougCortezwithDaughterRachelonhissailboat

There really isn’t an end to the things he taught me. There are even more life lessons that he tried to teach me then, and I’m just starting to get a grasp on. I know my dad was a really happy father, and very proud of his kids. So HAPPY FATHER’S DAY! I hope everyone has a beautiful day!

12 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day!

  1. It’s wonderful when we have fathers who are willing to teach us what they have learned and know we will find useful in our lives. We might not have a need for the knowledge immediately, but down the road, our fathers knew somehow the information would serve us well. This is a lovely post. Well done.

  2. Thanks for sharing your dad Rachie with us1 I need to do this too but this past week I haven’t been feeling like getting online much. I have been temping which I am enjoying but when I get home I just don’t feel like getting on the computer after doing 8 hours of data entry. I love what you wrote and identify about being taught how to change oil and car tires. Those are important things to learn! Love you heaps, Dianna

Leave a Reply

