Image

Spaceballs: “Lonestar” Stuffed Crust Skillet Pizza & Sassiness

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

See, it’s “Lonestar” because I made a star out of the pepperoni and I was watching Spaceballs while making/eating my creation.

If you haven’t seen Spaceballs you need to remedy that in the near future!

Alright, on to the yumminess!

I love pizza! I try to make it myself as much as possible instead of ordering out. This is a really easy way to get a deep-dish-esque stuffed crust pizza. You will need a cast iron skillet (mine is about a 10 inch diameter), and I highly recommend parchment paper or foil for easy clean-up. I prefer parchment paper because it doesn’t get hot like foil and it will be easier to handle.

Ingredients:

Pillsbury Grand’s Buttermilk Biscuit Dough (1 package of 8 biscuits)

4 slices of cheese – whichever kind you want to stuff your crust with – I used provolone

1 Tbs of BBQ sauce

1/4 cup regular tomato pasta sauce

1 1/4 cups shredded mozzarella

1 egg

Garlic powder, Parmesan, and Italian Seasonings to taste

Your choice of toppings – I used pepperoni and olives

Directions: Line the inside of the skillet with foil/parchment paper and smush “Pillsbury Grand’s Buttermilk Biscuits” into the bottom and up the sides.

I cut a few slices of provolone into strips with kitchen scissors and laid them against the edges with some pepperoni. Yes, the crust on this pizza is stuffed with cheese AND pepperoni. If you’re not a pepperoni person just nix the pepperoni.

Fold the edges down over your crust stuffing and press into the bottom dough.

Whip up an egg until it’s frothy and brush it over the dough on the edges of the crust – basically anything that’s not going to get covered with toppings.

Sprinkle with a little bit of garlic powder, Parmesan, and Italian seasonings.

If you’re a fan of BBQ I highly recommend adding a tablespoon of BBQ sauce to a quarter cup of regular tomato pasta sauce to use on your pizza.

Smear your sauce in the middle.

Add your cheese, add your toppings, and put it in the oven.

If you were baking regular biscuits it would be in for 12-17 minutes at 350 degrees. Your pizza will likely need longer. This came out pretty perfect and was in for 25 minutes at 350 degrees. Your crust should be a nice golden brown when it’s done.

When it’s done baking take your skillet out and set it on something heat resistant.

This is the best part…

Lift your pizza straight out of the skillet with the parchment paper and onto a cutting board.

Loosen the bottom edges with a spatula and slide it right off onto the cutting board to be served.

Easy clean-up after nomming on delicious pizza is always a good thing.

I’m sorry I don’t know what the international equivalent of Pillsbury biscuits are, but 176.7 degrees Celsius is the equivalent of 350 degrees Fahrenheit if you manage to get some and want to give it a whirl.

Alright, now on to the sass!

SAMSUNG

This is my “sassy” face, not to be mistaken with my “gremlin” face which looks like this:

RachelGremlin

Let’s go over that one more time…

“Sassy”

missmadness

“Gremlin”

Gremlin

The gremlin face indicates “I feel like crap today and I’m making a goofy face to distract myself from the crappiness”. C’mon we all have a face like that! There’s quite often a nose wrinkle and a mouth twist to go with it – it’s like you tasted something sour and you didn’t squint your eyes. That’s not the important face today. I just threw that in there in case you feel like crap today so it would make you laugh and offer distraction.

The important face today is the SASSY FACE! The sassy face indicates “I feel like a strong confident mixture of comedy and badassery – let’s take on the world”! It’s such a very important face and I find that many people don’t ever refine their sassy face because for whatever reason they don’t allow themselves to feel sassy. It doesn’t matter where you are, or what you do, or what you deal with on a day to day basis – if you have DNA you have the capability to express sassiness in you somewhere. I urge you to find that part of you that can feel and be inexplicably sassy. Stand in front of the mirror and practice. Let me be clear this is not a war face! There is no seriousness to this face whatsoever. Your sassy face doesn’t need to be anything like my sassy face. It can be like mine if making that face makes you feel empowered, but your sassy face needs to “fit” you like a favorite pair of jeans. Go head to a mirror right now. Look at yourself and wave!

“Hi me!”

“Hi me, you’re lookin’ good today!”

“Oh, thanks. I’m feelin’ sassy!”

*strike a pose*

It may take a few tries until you find it, but when you find one that makes you laugh and think “oh, I like that person in the mirror” you’ve found the winner!

This is your homework for this week: Superman arms up at least once at any point in time – and find your sassy face!

2 thoughts on “Spaceballs: “Lonestar” Stuffed Crust Skillet Pizza & Sassiness

Leave a Reply

