ABC Awesome Blog Content Award – The Illustrated ABC’s of Rachie

Hello there folks! I have to say I am gratefully shocked at the lovely awards I keep getting. It takes me a little while to post responses to them, and I apologize. I am making a conscious effort to work through them one at a time. My brain has a tendency to get lost down the rabbit hole! I want to thank Dianna at Thoughts of Yaussiechick for giving me the ABC Award! She’s amazing, and I highly recommend shooting over to her blog if you’re looking for new blogs with awesome people to make friends with.

abcAward

The rules of this award are:

  1. Add the ABC logo to your blog. (You can find the logo above.)
  2. ABC about yourself using one word or phrase (you don’t have to do pictures).
  3. Nominate however many blogs you wish.
  4. Let the recipient know via a link in their comments.

Now, I’ll admit that a lot of my “letters” aren’t about me, but they’re about things in my life – that counts!

A is for Apple Seeds

In March I started some apple seeds from store bought apples.

AppleBonsai

B is for Bonsai

I’ve read that store bought apple seeds probably won’t create delicious apples because of the grafting of grocery produce fruit trees. I am going to attempt to make these little guys into bonsai-scapes over the next several years.

WireTraining

C is for Cupcakes

These are the mocha cupcakes I made for a party.

Frosting

D is for Didgeridoo

I got my didge awhile back, and I’m finally getting a knack for it!

Didgeridoo

E is for Emma

Emma is my sock puppet! I’m working on some short videos to upload of her. You know how I’m all rainbows and unicorns with a sprinkle of sunshine? Emma is where I channel my inner saucy bitch. She’s hilarious, a tad bit inspirational, and I love her.

EMMATHEBRAVE

F is for Fortnight Lilies

One of my favorite flowers in my front garden.

FortnightLily

G is for Grasshopper

We’ve had these cute little grasshoppers in our garden lately. They’re friendly and this one rode around on the hose while I watered my plants.

Grasshopper

H is for Havarti

One of my favorite ways to have a burger! Havarti cheese burger with “drunken mushrooms” and roasted red pepper on sunflower seed bread with black rice. We call mushrooms that have been sauteed in wine “drunken mushrooms”. Love me some drunken mushrooms.

HavartiSauteedMushroomRoastePepperHamburgerwBlackRice

I is for Ice Cream

Should “I” ever be for anything beside ice cream? This is my “Campfire Sundae” creation. Take a regular small waffle cone and stuff it with chocolate, marshmallows, nuts, and anything else you’d like to be all melty with goopey wonderfulness. I suggest a few chocolate chips in the point at the bottom followed by marshmallows. I like to put the marshmallows toward the bottom because then they don’t overflow so much as they expand when heated. Once you’ve stuffed your cone, cover it with foil – you only need to cover the top half. Place it on a BBQ, hold over a campfire with tongs, or broil on high for about 2-5 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside while you scoop your ice cream (rocky road is my favorite). Carefully remove the foil (it will be hot), and turn your cone upside down on the ice cream so it looks like a delicious “hat”. Ta da!

IceCreamAwesomeness

J is for Jam

I made pink plum jam with the plums from my plum tree!

PlumJam

K is for Karaoke

I love karaoke! I’m told I’m decent at it and it’s a self esteem booster for me. I usually don’t have any trouble getting up on a stage and singing in front of people I don’t know; however, I’m headed to an audition tomorrow and I’m feeling a little nervous. I don’t expect to win, I just want to have fun and show myself I can get up there and sing. Wish me luck! Here’s one of my favorite karaoke jams.

L is for Lana and Linus

I have two puppies that I absolutely adore. Lana is a shelter puppy that I adopted when she was only a few weeks old. They made me wait a week before adoption so they could run all the medical and temperament tests. I visited her every day until I could take her home! She’s so smart! Β Linus is my sweet little boy that I got from Furry Friends Rescue. He’s such a joy and he even smiles!

Lana

LanaB

Linus

Linus Smile

Lana and Linus Tucked In For Bed

SAMSUNG

M is for Moon and Mangoes

I took this picture with my camera during the recent “super moon”. I adore the moon. It’s such a peaceful reflection of the day to gaze up to at night. Sometimes I like to whisper to her. I love growing mangoes! They’re one of the most fun plants to watch grow. When they first sprout they look like a crazy “Tim Burton-esque” kind of plant. Every time they grow new leaves they start white, and turn red, and finally green when they’re fully grown. It’s like watching a rainbow grow. πŸ™‚ Plus they have really large fun and funky seeds.

SuperMOOOOOON

MangoSeed

MangoLovely

Mango1

N is for Naked Ladies

Don’t get too excited – I’m talking about the flowers! I installed a puppy play area for our dogs and the outside of the little fence is lined with these naked lady flowers.

NakedLadies2

O is for Ophiuchus

Ophiuchus is my star sign in the sidereal zodiac – in the usual Western zodiac I’m a Sagittarius. Ophiuchus is the only star sign based on a real person. It’s the sign of the “healer” and is depicted as a man wrestling a serpent (think like the serpents found intertwined on the medical cross symbol). Some of this sign’s personality traits include being a healer (doctor, massage therapist, etc), having high aspirations, having vivid dreams, interpreting symbols, being lucky, wise, peaceful, and attracting a lot of jealousy. If you were born between November 29th and December 17th you are also an Ophiuchus!

200px-OphiuchusCC

P is for Pomegranates

My pomegranate tree is loaded with ripening fruit! They’re just starting to turn red and we’ll harvest them in October. I’m planning on making pomegranate molasses.

PomegranateLoaded2

Q is for Queen

The band “Queen” that is! They gave us “We Will Rock You”, “We Are The Champions”, and “Bohemian Rhapsody”. I’m a big fan of Bohemian Rhapsody – it must be sung with friends, and as intensely as possible. Plus, Bohemian Rhapsody was performed by the Muppets, and you know I can’t get enough Muppets!

R is for Roses

My Dad loved tending roses, and I think this is something he inherited from his mother. Β I suppose I have a bit of a green thumb, and I’m getting better at the roses. There’s definitely an attraction to them. Here’s a few of the varieties I have in my garden.

MrLincoln

RoseWhite

RoseRedOrange

AngelFaceLavenderRose

WaterDropletsRose

WaterDropletsYellowRose

S is for Sunflowers and Swords

Mostly sunflowers! Sunflowers are my absolute favorite flower! I love them, and I love lots of varieties of them! Hooray sunflowers! πŸ˜€ They make me happy and I’ve taken lots of pictures of them! Also, I’m carving a set of swords to practice Escrima with from palm fronds.

MammothBlossmedSunflower

Sunflowers In Love: They faced each other and leaned into each other a little more each day until it looked like they were snuggling each other.

DaphneandYabbaDoo

SunflowerKiss

LGOS5

OvergrownDwarf

DarkerCenter

WatercolorStreaked2

PalmFrondSwordTip

Oh, and squirrels! S is also for squirrels! Meet Biscuit, Mama Scone, and Rex – they’ll be featured in a series of stories I’m writing.

Biscuit

BiscuitHappy

Mama Scone

MamaScone

Rex

Rex3

He likes the squirrlie-snacks so much that he got some on his face while voraciously eating.

Rex2

T is for Tomatoes

I’m growing beefsteak and cherry tomatoes! Not ripe yet, but soon!

BigTomatoes

CherryTomatoes

U is for University of California Berkeley

This is one of my favorite places in Northern California! Can you blame me? What about Southern Cali? Pshh, University of California Santa Barbara is one of my favorite places there! πŸ˜€

SAMSUNG

Mark Twain/Samuel Clemens Statue

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

V is for Vintage

I’m a little bit old school, and it’s an older school than me. Does that make sense? I love old music, retro fashion, and paraphernalia from a time long before I was even born. About three to five decades before I was born actually. When I “play dress-up” I often go for a vintage look.

VintageRachieSmile

W is for Watermelon Cake

Have you seen those pins floating around on Pinterest for “Watermelon Cakes”? No? Here, have a look. I’ve seen this pin over a dozen times on my Pinterest feed. It’s a watermelon cut into a cylinder, “frosted”, and decorated with fruit and nuts to look like a cake. I decided to make a little single serving slice with Cool Whip, strawberries, bananas, and almonds. I cut the strawberries into little hearts. Why? Because it’s freaking cute! That’s why!

WatermelonCake

X is for X-Ray

I actually have a jpeg of an x-ray of myself. Woohoo! I can cover “X” no hassle! I even smiled for the camera! :-B Hi!

SinusCavitySmile

Y is for Y

I love this Sesame Street song about the letter “Y” with Norah Jones. I love the song, and I particularly love this version. You can’t go wrong because it teaches “Y” vocabulary words, AND “Y” shows up at the end to yodel with Norah and Elmo.

Z is for Zelda

No, not the video game character. This is my Gramma Zelda and her husband Papa John. Papa John passed away before I was born, but Gramma Zelda lived with us during my childhood. I’ve been told I look a lot like her. She still plays an important role in my life even though she’s passed. She used to always tell us “where there’s breath, there’s hope, and you’re still breathing”!

GrammaZelda

Whew! The whole alphabet! Did you make it? That was long!

On to the nominations!

To the nominees: don’t worry about posting a response. I’m highlighting your blog, that makes me happy. If you want to nominate more people go for it – just sit back and take a compliment otherwise! πŸ˜›

Please don’t nominate me back! I’m very flattered, but I am going to put receiving awards on pause until I can give proper acknowledgement to the ones I’ve already received.

I’ve chosen 9 nominees because the number 9 has been in my life a lot lately.

1 – “Digging History” – First I’m gonna send you over to James at “Digging History”. He scours the wilderness (or the beach, riverbed, creek, etc) with his trusty metal detector! If that isn’t cool enough on its own, he also cleans up the area while he’s out there, then takes pictures of his “treasures” and posts them for us to have a looksee.

2 – “KnitXpressions” – Now, go have a look at “KnitXpressions”! Seriously, how talented is this lady?! I absolutely stink at knitting and I’m impressed with her creations and creativity. Plus, she shares practical knowledge so if I ever try to knit again she’s one of my first stops to read up on things.

3 – “NOAA’S Marine Debris Blog” – The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Blog dedicated to Marine Debris. They clean up our oceans AND they have a WordPress Blog! Not only that, but they take the debris they gather and turn it into renewable energy! Let’s just stop right there and give them a round of applause.

*Applause*

4 – “Arthur In The Garden” – Want stunning garden photos and good gardening advice? Then go check out Arthur, his garden, and occasionally some other gardens. He even throws in some great recipes here and there. I want to try the blueberry jam!

5 – “Tes Wroblewski’s Sketches and Stuff” – Tes is a very talented artist from Northern California – and not just sketches! Go. Look. Be amazed. She’s a blogspot blogger so you’ll have to add her to your RSS feed manually to follow her creative creations.

6 – “Grow Your Innerself” – A hefty helping of peace and positivity. Such a sweet soul! Head over to “Grow Your Innerself” for some motivation and encouragement to “be the change you wish to see in the world”.

7 – “The Better Man Project” – Go say “hi” to Evan, over at “The Better Man Project”. As he puts it:Β Β β€œThe world needs better men. This blog is simply about my journey to become a better man and the things I run into along the way.” Way to lead by example!

8 – “Animating Your Life” – Now go over and visit Rob at “Animating Your Life” for some art and introspection. You’ll always find some food for thought from this “inspirational speaker, playwright, college prof., father of two and…ART ADDICT”.

9 – “Tuesdays With Laurie” – I saved a special blog morsel for last. Laurie blogs on writing, life, and self discovery. One of my favorite posts from her is the challenge of a “Six Word Story“. Can you write your memoir in six words?

That’s it for now, folks! I’d like to extend my appreciation and gratitude to my readers for their patience with my delayed posting lately. Have a beautiful day everyone!

7 thoughts on “ABC Awesome Blog Content Award – The Illustrated ABC’s of Rachie

  1. Heya! First up, let me say Congratulations on receiving this award πŸ™‚ I love the way you’ve done yours with pictures, it’s great! Next, I want to say thank you for nominating me! I’m absolutely flattered at your description of my blog, and I’m also very glad that you enjoy reading it and find it informative. Whenever you want to pick up knitting again, I’ll be most glad to help out where I can πŸ™‚ Thank you, thank you and thank you so much for the lovely words and the nomination. Like you, I’ve been trying to catch up with some of the awards too so give me some time and I’ll be posting about this soon πŸ™‚ In the meantime, have a lovely week ahead!!

Leave a Reply

